So, pre-contra dancing seemed to call for a quick batch of cookies. For some reason, energetic dancing for thee hours seems to leave me hungry and most of the time the snacks are not things I’m able to eat any longer. 6:00 pm I pull up my word doc of random recipes and see what I have the ingredients for… and the winner was Chocolate Crinkle Cookies. Of course, the flavor was excellent since I used the delightful Lake Champlain baking cocoa.

Final assessment: Decent, but slightly more starch would probably help the final product since mine were a drop cookie texture rather than roll into a ball texture.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

1/2 c cocoa powder
1 3/4 c powdered sugar
2 t potato starch (next time, 4 t)
1 c chopped pecans with a few chocolate chips thrown in
2 egg whites

Mix well. Roll into balls. Bake at 300 F for 15-18 minutes.

The contra dancers, of course, devoured them like hungry wolves.

Linked to: Sweet Tooth Friday

