Wikimedia Commons, Miguel Andrade
I was one of those kids who took peanut butter sandwich for lunch everyday.  Each year, you could probably count the number of times I took something else for lunch on one hand.  (Forgetting my lunch, though, that happened more often.)  In college, I switched to more variety in my lunches but had peanut butter on toast almost daily. I still love peanut butter, but I tend to eat it in snacks these days. My recent kick has been a grown-up, gluten free snack.  Basically, you drop the jelly/jam but add a little sweetness with maple syrup and a dose of plant-based omega-3s via the ground flaxseed. There isn’t much sugar in these, so they qualify as a healthy indulgence.

Peanut butter is one of those items you really should buy organic. Peanuts have quite a lot of agrichemicals used on them, and even if the amounts wouldn’t affect you, there are farmers, workers, and neighbors around the fields where you food is grown. Not to mention water and animals!

I’ve given the weights here as well because I find it considerably easier to measure sticky foods like peanut butter by weight instead of bothering with measuring cups or spoons.  If you don’t have a scale, lightly oil the measuring cup for the peanut butter so it doesn’t stick quite so much. It would be easy to roll them in something snazzy if you wanted something prettier (dried coconut? ground toasted almonds? cocoa powder?), but I don’t bother.

Peanut Maple Spread

1/4 c smooth natural peanut butter*  (60 g)
2 T ground flaxseeds (30 g)
2 T real Grade B (if possible) maple syrup (15 g)
1/8 t cinnamon

Mix together. Use as a spread immediately, or refrigerate for 30 minutes to make mini bars. Remove, and shape into balls or cubes. Store in the fridge.

*Substitute an unsweetened sunflower seed or cashew butter if peanuts aren’t an option.

