I don’t like tomatoes. It would not be inaccurate to say I abhor them, except that I do eat them in three forms: 1) ketchup; 2) canned salsa; 3) pizza. Occasionally, I will allow others to slip past my lips (in palak paneer, for example), but often with the long-suffering sighs or faint grimace that children employee when told to eat their liver or they won’t get dessert.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, let me point out that I like tomatoes heavily disguised. In my pizza sauce, you’ll find that the herbs are a dominant flavor. It’s almost pesto with enough tomato to hold it together. By using the tomato paste you minimize liquid and sauce-induced sogginess, and a light smear is enough to flavor the pizza. Fresh herbs would be better (rule of thumb: 1 t dried = 1 T fresh), but it was still in the 40s yesterday morning. Basil remains a somewhat distant thought.

Garlic Herb Pizza Sauce

6 pizzas

1 T olive oil
3 large cloves garlic, minced
1 small can tomato sauce (8 oz)
1 small can tomato paste (6 oz)
1 T dried oregano
2 t dried thyme
1 T dried basil
1 t dried marjoram

Heat the oil in a small saucepan over medium heat. When it is hot, add the garlic, and stir. Cook until barely starting to turn gold, then stir in the dried herbs. Cook for about 30 seconds, and then add the tomato sauce and tomato paste. Mix well, cover, bring to simmer, and remove from heat. Allow it to rest, covered, for at least 15 minutes. Refrigerate, freeze, or use immediately.

