DSC01460This month’s assignment, My Hobbie Lobbie, was a lovely mix of Brit and Indian (Goan) classics with a few truly spectacular baking adventures. I was totally tempted by the Cumin Cookies and there were a few curries… In the end, I decided I really needed to work on the “Gifts” category and settled on these as straighforward and semi-healthy. And, boy, was it a good choice. January’s SRC recipe was a hit! They was distributed widely as Christmas gifts, and, quite honestly, devoured (seriously… I had hopes of eating some two days after gifting and found myself looking at a tin containing a mere six peanuts).

Fancy version: 2 cups in a pretty tin. Basic version: mason jar with a ribbon. Batches made: 4.

Spicy Sweet Holiday Nuts

The recipe doubles easily, and you can use a milder spice like smoked paprika instead of red chili powder if necessary. I used both Indian-style ground red chili pepper and a mixture of smoked paprika and the Indian chili powder. If you use a very hot chili powder like cayenne, you may want to use less. Feel free to customize your nut mixture. The pecans and cashews were my favorites.

2 T butter
2 T water
1/2 c brown sugar
1/4 t ground cinnamon
1/4 t ground red chili pepper
1/4 t ground cumin
2 c mixed nuts (raw or roasted)
Salt to taste (up to 1/2 t)

Melt butter in a saute pan and add the brown sugar, water, and spices. Mix well. When the sugar has melted, add the nuts. Stir gently until the mixture is nearly dry and the nuts are toasted. Spread on parchment paper to cool.

Optional: toast in the oven for extra-toasted nuts. (up to 10 minutes, at 375, stirring every five minutes). I baked one batch, but didn’t bother for the others as some of my nuts were already roasted.

Secret Recipe Club (SRC) is a group of bloggers who secretly exchange blogs and cook each other’s recipes every month. To see what the other Secret Recipe Club bloggers made for this month, click on the blue frog below.

