DSC01567SRC time again! This month, I had an easy time picking a recipe from Lesa’s blog since we just started back to classes the end of January and (for once) I had plenty of time to browse and contemplate. Lesa had a quite a repertoire. Her slow cooker recipes were one option (but I have a small slow cooker and have not really been successful with it yet), as were several Tex-Mex recipes. I ended up making two recipes and taking inspiration from a third that I completely did not follow (last week’s post on Millet Morning Porridge… originally Savory Oat-Stuffed Acorn Squash… yeah, didn’t follow that recipe). First, these sweet potatoes were a total cinch, and devoured prompty by hungry brunch invitees. Second, the Golden Cheddar Corn Cakes were a lovely and hearty dish. The recipe is pretty generous (serves 8, maybe), and I’m hoping it will feed me breakfast all week. (They didn’t, because I ate some for lunch.)

I actually mostly followed the recipe this time– of course, I made it gluten-free by using corn flour with a dash of baking powder and ground flaxseed. Beyond that, I just used the food processor a touch more. If you want a smooth interior, I suggest using a finely ground corn meal. I used a coarse grind, and they had definite texture with just a hint of crunch.

Golden Cheddar Corn Cakes

5 oz sharp cheddar
2 c frozen corn, thawed
1/2 c green onions, green part, sliced
1/4 c olive oil, plus oil for frying
4 eggs, separated
1/2 c corn flour (I used whole grain)
1/2 c cornmeal (I used whole grain)
1/2 t baking powder
1 T ground golden flaxseed
Optional: Butter

Cube cheddar and chop in food processor. Add the corn, green onions, oil, and egg yolks. Pulse until just mixed (you want the corn chopped, not pureed). Mix the corn flour, corn meal, baking power, and flaxseed meal together in a measuring cup or small bowl. Add to the wet ingredients and mix until just blended.

Whisk the egg whites until they form soft peaks. Fold the egg whites into the corn blend.

Heat a griddle over medium heat. Lightly oil. Drop large tablespoons of batter onto the griddle. Cook for about 2 minutes per side, or until they are lightly browned. Serve with butter, if desired. (Lesa says to use it, and I agree. It’s well worth the calories.)

Secret Recipe Club, if you haven’t seen it, is a group of bloggers who are secretly assigned another writer’s blog. We each pick a recipe, then blog about their blog and our experience with that recipe. Click on the blue frog below to see what else we made this month.

