DSC01883
Last month, another SRC member made a mixed berry clafouti that truly looked delightful, so when I fell for the impulse purchase of a pint of black raspberries at the farm stand this morning, I goggled myself a recipe. Why didn’t I use the SRC recipe? It had butter, I have none. This was very simple, a nice easy dessert that isn’t too terribly decadent while also having a bit of heft to it. I found it quite sweet, so you could probably cut back the sugar a bit if you have sweet fruit.

(By the way, anyone who says that buying local is expensive should come to this farm stand. For a mere $18, I bought a pint of black raspberries, a small cabbage, two yellow squash, a zucchini, three peppers, two onions, a quart of pickling cukes, a quart of yellow runner beans, and a 5 lb bag of new red potatoes. Oh, and two lemons. I may have gone overboard…)

Black Raspberry Clafouti

1 1/4 c milk (I used a mix of mostly hazelnut but a little cow milk)
3 eggs
1/2 c corn flour
1/3 c brown sugar
Zest of 1/2 lemon
pinch cinnamon
1 T ground flaxseeds
Oil/butter for pan
2 c black raspberries, washed and drained
1/3 c slivered almonds

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Beat (whisk or mixer) together the eggs, milk, flour, sugar, lemon zest, cinnamon, and flaxseeds. Grease the pan, and pour a thin layer of batter into the pan and bake for about 5 minutes, or just until it’s started to firm up on the bottom. Top that thin layer of batter with the raspberries and almonds, then pour in the rest of the batter. Bake for about 45 minutes, or until just barely firm in the middle. Remove from the oven, and serve warm or cool with any desired accompaniments, like ice cream, whipped cream, powdered sugar, etc.

