DSC01928I never was a sprout fan until I visited a certain stand at the Union Square Greenmarket about a decade ago. There, I encountered this lovely little green with a hint of fresh nuttiness. And it was love at first taste.

They are rarely sold commercially, and I have yet to get the guts to grow my own. However, a producer sold me a baggie at a farmer’s market in the next county, eventually. Once again, I had a somewhat weird experience at the farmer’s market where someone questions my buying the food they are there to sell. Really, people, is this any way to run a business? Or is it just me?

Anyway, should you care to make the salad, shave most of a carrot using a vegetable peeler, and toss with two handful of sunflower seed sprouts. Top with a tablespoon or two of chopped hazelnuts, a generous spoonful of dried currants, and then finish off with a teaspoon of olive oil and a teaspoon of lemon juice. Salt and pepper optional. Otherwise, I suggest simply nibbling on the sunflower seed sprouts like carrot sticks, or popcorn.

