DSC01916My SRC recipe from Shelby’s blog was surprisingly compelling even though it has a somewhat off-putting name: cottage cheese loaf. I’ve been on this cottage cheese kick, and it and reminded me of all the intriguing recipes circulated in the 1940s to manage rationing of meat that I’ve never made. The results: delicious. Fluffy, a touch salty with a faint hint of sweetness from the cereal, and simultaneously both creamy and textured. I enjoyed it with raw cucumber and carrot sticks, peas, my mother’s cornbread (GF version), and a cold gluten-free beer. And I wasn’t even sorry that I turned on the oven in 90 degree weather.

Not my usual choice, is it? Well, the recipes I thought about making included Kung Pao Tofu, these “breakfast” cookies, and these hip lentil tostadas. Seriously, anyone else seeing those tostadas as the next big food truck hit?

To go back to what I actually made, I did make a few changes: 1) used corn squares aka chex instead of special K because that’s the kind of cold cereal I most often eat when I’m not making my own; 2) used olive oil instead of butter (I bought butter, but the microwave still wasn’t plugged in after the move); 3) added a few tablespoons of grated parmesan; 4) switched the walnuts to almonds; 5) used milk instead of water. For those who aren’t super-enthused about onions, you may prefer to precook them slightly. The finely chopped ones were just a touch al dente, and coarsely chopped ones would not have cooked through. Many thanks to Grumpy Honeybunch’s mother, and boy, oh, boy, DH does not know what he is missing.

Cheese Bake (aka Cottage Cheese Loaf)

4 eggs
2 c cottage cheese
1 1/2 c lowfat milk
1 t Better than Bullion vegetable base
1/2 c olive oil
1 large onion, chopped finely
2-4 T grated parmesan
3/4 c ground almonds
5 c corn cereal

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Beat eggs in a medium-large mixing bowl. Add remaining wet ingredients. Stir in almonds and corn cereal. Pour into a greased baking pan (I think of them as lasagna pans) and bake for about 45 minutes, or until browning on the edges.

Oh, yes, and despite my recent devotion, I must say cottage cheese is a bit… neglected?… in the modern foodscape so I just tweaked the name a bit.

To see what other people made for this week’s Secret Recipe Club recipe swap, click on the blue froggie below. SRC is a group of bloggers who are “secretly” assigned another blog, from which we select and make a recipe. It’s a nice way to find things you would never think to make yourself, or test out someone’s else’s fun spin on a classic.

