Wow! June truly flew past, especially once we lost our lovely utilities. (Seriously, folks, practice the whole disaster preparedness thing thoroughly. My best friends were my matches and my flashlight. And the chickens. Nothing like fresh eggs for breakfast when your fridge is on hold.) Fortunately, we never lost water and the long summer days made it easier to still get everything done.  Gas stoves, also, are lovely when you have no electricy.  I do have to admit that I was concerned about completing my July Secret Recipe Club recipe when we hit day four of flickering/absent power. I’d procrastinated, mostly because I had such a hard time choosing!

Shumaila’s blog, the Novice Housewife, features an ongoing Garam Masala Tuesdays series that particularly makes my mouth water. Right. Must cook more Indian food since there is no Indian take-out in Roane County, WV. She is also quite the baker, and takes some lovely photos. (Her appams are much prettier than mine, probably both from skill in cooking and in photographing.)

The original recipe I chose, Aloo Puffs, are this delicious potato filling baked into puff pastry, a bit like a samosa or empanada. I skipped the puff pastry (gluten as well as no faith that the power would stay on so I could bake) and just made our classic leftover potato patties with the snazzed-up filling. Otherwise, I traded peas for carrots and dropped the cilantro because of product availability. The puffs would be a true cocktail party hit, though.

Aloo Patties

3 potatoes, boiled, and mashed
1-2 T oil
1 1/2 t cumin
1/2 big onion or 1 small onion, diced
3-4 small carrots, diced
2-3 green chilies, finely chopped
1 red chili, finely chopped
1 T ginger-garlic paste
Pinch cayenne pepper
1/2 t turmeric powder
Salt to taste
1 egg
1 t garam masala
Juice of half a lemon

Prepare potatoes. Smash. Next, heat the oil in a pan and add the cumin, onions, and carrots. Cook over medium heat until they are tender. Add the ginger-garlic paste and the chilies. Mix well and add the cayenne pepper and the turmeric. After about 30 seconds, add the onion mixture to the potatoes. Mix in the garam masala, egg, and lemon juice. Stir until well combined.

To make the patties, heat a pan over medium-low heat. Grease lightly with oil. Make small patties (2-3″ in diameter) and cook about 5 minutes on each side, or until lightly browned. Serve with the garnishes of your choice.

To see other recipes made by SRC members, click on the blue frog below: